The sexual harassment of two women DAP MPs by Barisan Nasional MPs Bung Moktar and Thong Fah Cheng will be on the agenda of the Barisan Alternative leadership council meeting next week

Media Statement
by Lim Kit Siang

(Penang, Sunday): DAP will raise the  issue of the sexual harassment of two women DAP MPs, Chong Eng (Bukit Mertajam) and Fong Poh Kuan (Batu Gajah) by  Barisan Nasional MPs Bung Moktar Radin (BN - Kinabatangan) and Thong Fah Cheng (BN - Ipoh Timor) through very offensive and sexist language like "Boleh masuk sedikitkah?" and "Beri masuk sikitlah" at the next meeting of the Barisan Alternative leadership council next week.

The Chairman of the Barisan Backbenchers’ Club, Dr. Jamaluddin Jarjis should be commended for tendering an apology to DAP Secretary-General and MP for Kota Melaka, Kerk Kim Hock for the conduct of Bung Moktar and Thong, but Jamaluddin’s apology had been nullified so long as the two errant Barisan Nasional MPs are unrepentant and unapologetic for their sexist conduct.

In fact, Bung Moktar and Thong had compounded their unparliamentary conduct by trying to justify their sexist language, claiming that they meant no offence. I find it most  shocking  that the Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Education, Dr Mahadzir Mohd Khir, could defend such uncouth, sexist  and unparliamentary conduct.

Bung, Thong and even  Mahadzir should explain whether they would use  these terms to ask the Minister for International Trade and Industry  Datuk Paduka Rafidah Aziz,  Social Welfare Minister  Siti Zaharah Suleiman, Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Deputy Minister for Culture, Youth and Tourism Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen or any Barisan Nasional woman MP to ask them to give way during their speeches in Parliament!

The Human Resource Minister, Datuk Dr. Fong Chan Onn,  who is promoting  the  Prevention of Sexual Harassment Code to prevent sexual harassment at workplaces, should give a three-point special briefing to all Barisan Nasional MPs:


*Lim Kit Siang - DAP National Chairman