From being the top policeman in the country, Rahim Noor has become the No. 1 liar

-  ADIL reception at Taman Pelangi, Sentul

by Lim Kit Siang  

(Kuala Lumpur, Sunday): The blatant injustics in the sacking of Anwar Ibrahim as Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister, his expulsion from UMNO, his arrest in a commando operation, his treatment while under police custody resulting in his "black eye" and other injuries, his prosecution and trial, have given a powerful fillip to the movement for justice, freedom, democracy and good governance.

Last September, Anwar was transformed overnight from the occupant of the second highest government post in the country into the nation’s No. 1 criminal.  Events have proved that in fact the No. 1 criminal was not Anwar Ibrahim, but the No. 1 policeman in the country - Tan Sri Rahim Noor.

Rahim Noor has through his lawyers confessed to the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Anwar’s "black eye" this morning  to assaulting Anwar Ibrahim while under police custody and being responsible for Anwar’s "black eye" and other injuries.

Anwar was assaulted on the night of Sept. 20, immediately after his arrest and when taken to the Bukit Aman police lock-up, until he eventually lost consciousness and he was denied medical attention for five days.

Yet, Rahim Noor as Inspector-General of Police could on Sept. 24 publicly declare that Anwar was "safe and sound", making him the No. 1 liar in the country!

Now that Rahim Noor has confessed to assaulting Anwar Ibrahim, although claiming that he was provoked to do so - which is clearly ridiculous  - Malaysians want to know why and how there was a four-month cover-up of the assault.

Very pertinent and relevant is when the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Dr. Mahathir Mohamad was first informed of Rahim Noor’s assault of Anwar and why he made the outrageous remark that Anwar’s "black eye" and other injuries could have been "self-inflicted"!


*Lim Kit Siang - Malaysian Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Democratic Action Party Secretary-General & Member of Parliament for Tanjong