Sim Moh Yu’s  Datukship on his conferment of Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka is one of those rare occasions where the recipient confers even more honour on the state award he is receiving

Media Statement
by Lim Kit Siang

(Petaling Jaya, Saturday):  Veteran leading Chinese educationist Sim Moh Yu’s confernment of Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka on the occasion of the Yang di Pertua Negeri Melaka’s 74th birthday, making him a Datuk, is one of those rare occasions where the recipient confers even more honour on the state award he is receiving.

Sim Moh Yu, 87,  deserves not only Malacca state recognition in the award of Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka, but  the highest possible state award in Malacca  with the title of "Datuk Seri".  In fact, he has long deserved even the highest national recognition and awards  for his indomitable spirit and great  contribution to education in Malaysia and national development - such as a Tan Sri’ship or even being conferred a "Tun"!

I find it very sad however that the conferment of the Malacca Datuk’ship award to Sim Moh Yu was omitted in the list of title  receipients reported in the New Straits Times or the Berita Harian, for Sim Moh Yu should be honoured not just as a Chinese but as a great patriotic Malaysian.

Although Sim never held public office, and was in the sixties  expelled from MCA, Sim had  made greater contribution than many  Ministers, Deputy Ministers and political leaders to education and  the important process of nation-building in Malaysia.

Sim and I were detained during Operasi Lalang in 1987 and together with other detainees, we were incarcerated in Kamunting Detention Centre.

There should be proper state and national recognition of Sim’s great contribution to the nation-building process. It would be very sad if Sim’s award is not a recognition of him as a role model for all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, but merely to make an impact on the Chinese community.


*Lim Kit Siang - Malaysian Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Democratic Action Party Secretary-General & Member of Parliament for Tanjong