ASEAN Secretary-General R.C.  Severino should send a strong warning  to Myanmese military junta of adverse ASEAN and international reaction if it deports Aung San Suu Kyi and/or  dissolves  of National League for Democracy

Media Statement
by Lim Kit Siang  

(Petaling Jaya, Sunday): ASEAN Secretary-General R.C. Severino should send a strong warning to the Myanmese military junta of adverse ASEAN and international reaction if it deports Burmese Opposition Leader Aung San Suu Kyi and/or dissolves  her National League for Democracy (NLD), which is expected early next month.

It is most regrettable that the admission of Myanmar into ASEAN has not led to any progress either in national reconciliation efforts or the democratisation process  in Burma, but the reverse, to the extent that the Myanmese military regime is seriously considering deporting the Nobel peace laureate.  Rumours had circulated in Rangoon that Suu Kyi might be deported on January 3.

ASEAN governments should demand  an assurance from the Myanmese State Peace and Development Council (SPDC) that there would be no  coercive action to deport Suu Kyi or dissolve the NLD, which would not only be a further blot on its image but also a stain on ASEAN’s international reputation and standing.

If SPDC forcibly deports Suu Kyi from Burma against her will, it would make a mockery of all the assurances given by ASEAN government leaders, including the Malaysian Foreign Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi that Myanmar’s admission into ASEAN would make the military junta pay greater respect to international opinion and  human rights.

In view of the assurances that Abdullah Badawi had given to the Malaysian Parliament and people about the "good and proper conduct" of the Myanmese military junta after its admission into ASEAN, the Malaysian Foreign Minister should urgently get in touch with his counterpart in Burma to warn it against any attempt to deport Suu Kyi or dissolve NLD.


*Lim Kit Siang - Malaysian Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Democratic Action Party Secretary-General & Member of Parliament for Tanjong