The 27 Barisan Nasional seats which will fall if the Teluk Intan Richter 6 "political earthquake" is nationwide

Media Conference Statement
by Lim Kit Siang

(Tampin, Tuesday): I had described the Bagan by-election result of Sept. 9, 1995 as a Richter 3 "political earthquake" and the Teluk Intan by-election result of May 17, 1997 as a Richter 6 "political earthquake".

In the Bagan by-election, the political tremors it created is not because the DAP through Sdr. Lim Hock Seng retained the seat which became vacant as a result of the untimely death of Sdr. P. Patto, but because the DAP won Bagan with a 11,802-vote majority, which is 100 times the majority of 118 votes four months earlier in the April 1995 general elections.

The Bagan by-election "seismic" event was historic and significant as it gave both democracy and the DAP a new lease of life, at a time when democracy was in peril and the DAP under trauma following the unprecedented landslide victory of the Barisan Nasional in the April 1995 general elections which nearly crushed the DAP, with many DAP leaders and activists utterly demoralised by the result.

The Teluk Intan by-election belongs to a higher order of seismic activity than the Bagan by-election for the following reasons:

Among the main items of the Teluk Intan 20 Points are:

The voters of Repah are now asked to endorse the Teluk Intan 20 Points. Although Repah is a state assembly seat, the principle and the need for a strong opposition to provide a check on the abuses and arrogance of power of the government is even more pronounced as there is now not a single Opposition member in the Negri Sembilan State Assembly to monitor the going-ons of the Negri Sembilan State Government.

A total of 27 Barisan Nasional MPs, including five Ministers and four Deputy Ministers will fall if there is a Teluk Intan Richter 6 "political earthquake" with a swingaround of 16,884 votes as compared to the results of the 1995 general elections.

These 27 Barisan Nasional parliamentary seats are:

Constituency Present MP Majority
Perak (10)
1. Ipoh Timor Chen Kwan Wu @ Chang Kon You (MCA) 292
2. Batu Gajah Yeong Chee Wah (MCA)1,579
3. Ipoh Barat Ho Cheong Sing (MCA) 4,869
4. Lumut Dr. Yap Yit Thong (MCA)8,652
5. Tapah Datuk K. Kumaran (MIC) 9,851
6. Beruas Datuk Dr. Lim Keng Yaik (Gerakan) 11,254
7. Kampar Datuk Hew See Tong (MCA)14,163
8. Gopeng Datuk Dr. Ting Chew Peh (MCA) 14,788
9. Sungei Siput Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu (MIC) 15,610
10. Taiping Kerk Choo Ting (Gerakan) 16,767
Penang (4)
1. Bukit Bendera Chia Kwang Chye (Gerakan) 2,918
2. Bayan Baru Wong Kam Hoong (MCA) 6,839
3. Nibong Tebal Dr. Goh Cheng Teik (Gerakan) 8,529
4. Bukit Mertajam Dr. Tan Chong Keng (MCA) 12,098
Selangor (5)
1. PJ Utara Vincent Lim Kuo Phau (MCA)-
2. Klang Dr. Tan Yee Kew (MCA) 6,124
3. Serdang Yap Pian Hon (MCA) 9,437
4. PJ Selatan Lim Siang Chai (MCA) 11,625
5. Hulu Selangor G. Palanivel (MIC) 15,952
Federal Territory (3)
1. Segambut Dr. Tan Kee Kong (Gerakan)12,158
2. Bandar Tun Razak Tan Chai Ho (MCA) 14,735
3. Batu Joseph Chong (Gerakan) 14,842
Negri Sembilan (1)
1. Rasah Wong See Wah (MCA) 10,171
Johore (2)
1. Bakri Chua Jui Meng (MCA) 12,318
2. Labis Datuk Seri Ling Liong Sik (MCA) 15,045
Pahang (2)
1. Mentakab Fu Ah Kiow (MCA) 11,513
2. Raub Teng Gaik Kwan (MCA) 15,232

Finally, a note on the Richter scale for measuring the scale of earthquakes. Charles F. Richter of the California Institute of Technology invented the logarithmic scale which are now referred to as the Richter scale for earthquake measurements. The term logarithmic means that each whole number step represents a ten-fold increase in measured amplitude. Thus, a magnitude 8 earthquake is 10 times larger than a 7, 100 times as large as a magnitude 6 and 1000 times as large as a 5 magnitude.

Micro earthquake (imperceptible) 1.0
6 oz.
2 lbs.
Potentially Perceptible
13 lbs.
63 lbs.
Generally Felt 3.0
397 lbs.
1,990 lbs.
Minor (Damage Slight) 4.0
6 tons
32 tons
Moderate (Damaging) 5.0
199 tons
1,000 tons
Large (Destructive) 6.0
6,270 tons
31,550 tons
Major 7.0
199,000 tons/9.9 a-bombs
1,000,000 tons/50 a-bombs
Great 8.0
6,270,000 tons/ 313.5 a-bombs
31,550,000 tons/1,577.5a-bombs
199,000,000 tons/9,500 a-bombs

["a-bombs" stands for "atomic bombs"]


*Lim Kit Siang - Malaysian Parliamentary Opposition Leader, Democratic Action Party Secretary-General & Member of Parliament for Tanjong